IMG_6556

I really love the outdoors, especially the wilderness. One of the things I find the most challenging about living in the Bay Area is being in a big city and near other people all of the time. I was feeling like I needed a little break from the city and started researching backpacking trips near San Francisco. Well, it turns out that there is a nearby open space with a backpack-in camp that had an available permit.

I jumped on it, and did a quick one-night solo backpack trip.

IMG_6543fullsizeoutput_8bc

I literally had to dust off my trusty Gregory backpack, it’s been in storage since my last backpacking excursion in 2013. I am worried that I’ll need to retire it soon because the bottom waterproof panel has started to come off in pieces. It will be hard to part with this pack, we’ve covered a lot of miles together since 2008.

Did you know that backpacking is actually the best? There is just something comforting in being able to carry everything you need for a few days and be comfortable surviving on your own.

IMG_6558

I also just find solo time outdoors refreshing. I am happy to sit on a hillside for two hours watching red-tailed hawks circle on thermals, but I also recognize that not everyone has the same patience for this.

When the sun goes down, there are few other options than going to sleep. In the morning I woke up early and hiked out before breakfast. It was overcast but I shared the trail with about six families of deer. They did not seem to mind me so much, and I certainly enjoyed their company.

 

Viva la weekend.

signature1

