62 mile Ride // Do All Things With Love

62 mile Ride // Do All Things With Love

I used to race back in college when I was 19 and 20, but at a very low level and I was never serious enough about it to commit real time and energy to train for races. Now that I’m getting back into biking I actually train for rides and I am enjoying riding for completely different reasons. If you were wondering, I still don’t take myself seriously at all, but I do love getting to ride fast with my friends, I love exploring the Bay Area on my bike and I love that cold post-ride beer. Yeah, okay so beer probably isn’t the best recovery drink it turns out.

62 mile Ride // Do All Things With Love

62 mile Ride // Do All Things With Love

This has been a big cycling year for us–Onur got a nice road bike in the spring and we started doing some fun rides with friends who were also getting into riding. Then someone proposed the idea that we all train together to complete a long organized ride, so we started holding formal weekly training rides in June and have been increasing our endurance and hill-climbing since then. Everyone has gained strength and endurance since we started. In September we completed the organized ride together, a 100k (62 mile) ride in Sonoma called the Tour de Fuzz. The ride was by far the most well organized ride I’ve ever seen and would 100% do this again next year. Supported rest stops with food, after the ride free beer, huge lunch, and a free massage. Our only issue was that the elevation listed for our ride was about half of what it actually was, so the hill climbs were harder than expected.

Team Bear Pope // Do All Things With Love

Team Bear Pope // Do All Things With Love

Somewhere during the training this spring one of the big talkers on our team suggested that we also add a century ride this year. So we talked about it and did some longer rides, then finally registered. Next week our cycling group ‘Team Bear Pope’ rides the century. I think we are all a little nervous about how it will go, but we will start early and take breaks and conquer the 100 miles like it’s nothing.

So how the heck do you train for biking 100 miles?

  1. Find at least one person to train with. Long solo rides suck. You need at least one other person who will yell profanities at hill climbs with you and help change that zillionth flat tire.
  2. Either buy a training plan or create your own based on your end goal. In my case our training group has a leader who knows what he’s doing and planned out our weekly rides to build up milage and hills.
  3. Look up some fun or popular routes! Strava has a cool heat map feature to see the most popular routes near you.
  4. Track your rides. Rule #9 of being a road biker: If it’s not on Strava, it didn’t happen. But really, that data helps you see how your performance is improving.
  5. Build up distance over time, not all at once. It really has taken us three months of regular rides to build up to 100 miles. Long rides when you aren’t ready are a recipe for injury and for hating cycling.

What the heck do you eat before and during your ride?

The method for fueling starts with a dinner that is carb-heavy the night before that also contains protein and some healthy nutrients. For example, a pasta dish, meat sauce and beet salad (because beets are amazing for athletes). Breakfast before the event should be something pretty simple to digest that won’t weigh you down. My preferred breakfast is oatmeal with some walnuts and apple slices. Then during the event it is important to eat and drink small amounts frequently. I’ve been using a camelback bladder for water this year and it has helped me increase my water consumption because I find it easier to drink from while I am riding and I can carry more water than I could with bottles. My go-to food choices while riding include: bananas, Clif brand Shot Bloks, and homemade energy bars.

Basically, this video sums up everything you need to know about How to be a Road Biker.

signature1

Note: Please remember that I am not a dietitian or doctor, so please take all my advice with a grain of salt and seek advice from a professional before doing anything extreme.

