Sunny Saturday breakfast

Sunny Saturday breakfast

I love our weekends. Work is hard, but I love it. I just get so exhausted by Friday that I really need a weekend to recharge my batteries. Do you ever feel that way?

We try to take the time on weekend mornings to sleep in a little extra if our bodies let us, to eat breakfast at 10am if we can manage it, to spend a quiet morning drinking glasses of tea. These quiet mornings are my favorite thing about the week.

By Sunday I try to kick it back into gear to start prepping meals for the week. During the week I find it hard to have energy to cook a meal from scratch ever night (I’m sure this is not an unusual thing). So my solution is cooking on Sundays. My favorite time-saver is my Sunday Roasted Chicken which I make in a crock pot, because you know, there are other things to do on the weekends. Read on for the easiest thing you will ever cook. The trick to make the chicken extra delicious is to roast it for a few minutes in the oven first.

Sunday Roasted Chicken

Ingredients:

  • Whole chicken (free-range, organic is best if you can)
  • 2 Bay leaves
  • 3/4 C Chicken broth
  • 1 TBSP Paprika
  • 5 Garlic cloves
  • Salt + pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to broil.Sunday Roasted Chicken // Do All Things With Love
  2. Rinse chicken, pat dry, place in a baking dish or on a pan.
  3. In a bowl mix paprika, garlic, salt and pepper.
  4. Rub the mixed spices on the chicken and put in the oven for 10 minutes or until slightly brown and crispy.

    Baked chicken pre-crockpot

    Baked chicken pre-crockpot

  5. Once the chicken is slightly crispy, move to the crockpot, add broth and 2 bay leaves.

    Chicken into the crockpot!

    Chicken into the crockpot!

  6. Cook on high for 4-5 hours or low for 7-8 hours. Clean your house, do the laundry, yoga, etc.
  7. Remove, enjoy.

I serve the chicken with a big salad and then use the resulting broth and extra chicken bits to make a delicious chicken soup for another night in the week (this creates lunch leftovers too) plus there is extra chicken breast for lunch salads too. So really three meals at least, usually four meals for your 10 minutes of effort and 8 hours of ignoring a slow cooker. Enjoy!

signature1

