Baked Oatmeal // Do All Things With Love

Last week I discovered a great recipe for baked oatmeal, I won’t call them cupcakes, but muffin-shaped oatmeal. Perfect for a Healthy October menu! It’s cooked/baked rolled oats mixed with mashed banana, some sweetener and whatever extra additions you want to throw in. My first version I just added some cinnamon and chocolate chips, but this morning my second batch I added walnuts (from the farmers market!), raisins, vanilla extract, chocolate chips, and coconut oil. I like that this is a fairly healthy breakfast to grab in the morning to eat with some fruit or eggs.

Muffin-Shaped Baked Oatmeal 

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 2 overripe bananas
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 5 tsp sweetener (stevia, agave syrup, etc.)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 cup water
  • dash of salt
  • Optional: chocolate chips, nuts, dried fruit, etc.
  • Optional: raw sugar dusting on top

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 380 degrees F, line a muffin pan with cupcake liners or spray with oil.
  2. Mash bananas and mix with vanilla, coconut oil, sweetener and water.
  3. Add in rolled oats, salt, chocolate chips or any optional add-ins.
  4. Scoop mixture into muffin pan, compress slightly with fingers so it sticks together. Sprinkle with raw sugar if desired.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes or until edges are golden brown.
Baked Oatmeal // Do All Things With Love

This morning’s batch of Baked Oatmeal

These freeze really well too! Today I made up a large batch for my busy weekdays. Enjoy!

signature1

P.S. I am officially out of my thesis cave, at least for a few days! The umpteenth revision has been submitted, so now I get a short break before I need to revise again. Back to blogging!

