Harvesting our first tree

Harvesting our first tree

So, this year is our first Christmas together, and the first Christmas I will spend away from my family. We get to celebrate Onur’s first ever Christmas (it isn’t celebrated where he is from) and with that we get to start new holiday traditions. However, we have no room in the budget for anything elaborate, so I’m piecing together what I can for decorations and everything else.

The first thing we did was go out with a bunch of friends to the national forest and cut down our trees.

In Montana, they sell Christmas tree harvesting permits for all Forest Service land for $5 so it’s actually the cheapest tree I’ve ever gotten. Back in Oregon we have Christmas tree farms, where the trees are groomed and perfect and can cost anywhere from $20-45. I found a few strings of lights at Salvation army ($1.50 each) and bought a package of candy canes ($2) to decorate with, since we don’t have any christmas ornaments. So total tree + trimmings = $11.50

First Christmas Tree // Do All Things With Love

First Christmas Tree // Do All Things With Love

As a child I always loved advent calendars. My brother and I would take turns opening the doors. Sometimes we got little toys, sometimes chocolate. It would always get us excited for Christmas. When I tried to explain to Onur what an advent calendar was, he didn’t really understand. So… I made us one. But this time using beer from my home state. It’s been a fun thing for us, and certainly Onur-approved.

Beer Advent Calendar // Do All Things With Love

Beer Advent Calendar // Do All Things With Love

We have no holiday decorations. Everything my family has back home are things accumulated over the years or passed down from grandparents and great-grandparents. Everything has memories and sentiment, so starting fresh is a little hard. I saw some cute wreaths on Pinterest and decided to attempt my own. The result was not particularly amazing, but at least it’s something.

Christmas Wreath // Do All Things With Love

Christmas Wreath // Do All Things With Love

We have a big wood salad bowl on the table that usually holds seasonal stuff, and has actually never been used for salads… well I found pinecones and a couple of ornaments and it looks sort of seasonal.

Pinecones // Do All Things With Love

Pinecones // Do All Things With Love

And then of course, in this post I shared the bookshelf decoration that I made with a $1 garland, a few ornaments and stuff we had in the house.

Holiday Bookshelf // Do All Things With Love

Holiday Bookshelf // Do All Things With Love

What are your holiday traditions? I would love some ideas!

signature1

