DIY: Chalkboard Mugs // Do All Things With Love

Chalkboard mugs!

Okay, so this project has been a long time in coming. A few months ago I came across Amanda’s chalkboard mug project on Pinterest, and knew that I wanted to try them myself. But not having any suitable mugs at the time, I put it out of my mind and went about my life. A month ago I was in Cost Plus World Market and saw these cute white stackable mugs. But They were $19.99 and I wasn’t ready to shell out that kind of cash. As luck would have it I went back a week later for something else and saw a set of them in the clearance section for $5! Score. The set was missing one mug, but I was able to stick a piece of cardboard in the bottom and you can’t even tell it is a mug short!

INSTRUCTIONS:

DIY: Chalkboard Mugs // Do All Things With Love

1. Start with a clean, dry mug.

2. Use painter’s tape to cover any areas you wish to keep unpainted.

3. Paint with a porcelain blackboard paint. (I used Pebo paint)

4. Bake according to the directions on the paint. If it doesn’t call for baking, it’s probably not the right paint. Don’t use it on food surfaces.

5. You’re done! Start drawing. (optional) For best results, go over the whole surface lightly with a piece of chalk to prime it before you start drawing. It helps the chalk stick later.

ENJOY!

