I have been thinking about how we interact with people.  About how we tell our story, and about how we listen.  So I thought it would be an interesting exercise to start getting the stories of others.  By interviewing another person, I think it allows for interesting conversations and new connections.

To do this, I would like to interview people I know.  If you are willing to spend an hour or less being interviewed by me, I would like to talk to you!  I’ll buy you coffee, tea, or a beer.  Then you will have final editing rights before it gets posted.

My friend Mike was wiling to be the first interviewee (thanks!).  Mike is a first-year graduate student in the Geography department.  We have been friends for the past year and I think he’s a pretty cool guy.

Name: Mike
Age: 29
Occupation: Student
Hometown: Coram, NY

[J] What one food are you surviving on in college?
[M] Pizza.

[J] If you were an animal, what would you be?
[M] A sea turtle. I could just swim around all the time and be like ‘I have a shell, bitch.’

[J] What kinds of people do you dislike?
[M] Intolerant people and loud people.

[J] What was your childhood like?
[M]  I have very good memories, a very happy childhood.

[J] What did you want to be when you grew up?
[M] Oh (laughing) I wanted to be a lot of things. An FBI agent, a fireman, an electrical engineer.

[J] Do you have any family traditions?
[M] Every summer when I was growing up my family went to Star Island for a week. The same families came year after year, and I’m still friends with some of them.

[J] If you could meet any person, living or dead, who would it be and what would you ask them?
[M] It sounds cliche, but Obama. I would ask him “how do you stay so calm in the face of such adversity?”

[J] Describe the most beautiful place you ever visited.
[M] Puerto Escondido, in Mexico. It is a quiet, sleepy town on the Pacific. It feels like you are away from everything.

[J] List the top five places you would like to travel to.
[M] Hawaii, New Zealand, China, Argentina, Costa Rica.

[J] What are your proudest accomplishments?
[M] Moving from where I grew up  on the east coast to California. Finding a place I love.

[J] Do you have any regrets?
[M] I have only one regret in my life: voting for George W. Bush in 2004.

Thanks Mike!

signature1

